Why I Memorize Scripture

Hebrews 4:12
For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.

The Bible is no ordinary book to me.

God reveals himself through Scripture – we learn of his love, his promises, what displeases him, what he wants for us.  It is the most valuable possession to any believer.  It is not just something to read.  Just as it states in Hebrews God’s Word is ALIVE and ACTIVE.  It is set into motion in us and through us to an evil and hurting world.

I began memorizing God’s Word as a small child.  I was fortunate enough to attend a Christian school from the age of 5 through my senior year of high school.  It was a monthly requirement that students memorize portions of Scripture – something I begrudged having to do at the time, but a practice that has stayed with me beyond graduation.

In my college years I had Scripture verses written out on index cards in colorful ink posted all over the walls in my dorm room.  I loved being surrounded by God’s word.  It brought comfort and I could go to any wall when I was facing fear, disappointment, or stress and there was always a word for me from my Lord.

I no longer begrudgingly commit the word of God to memory.  It is a privilege and nourishment to my mind and soul.

Now I carry a spiral of index cards with me and memorize a new verse (or verses) every two weeks (thank you, Beth Moore!).

I have never thought that committing God’s Word to memory and quoting Scripture made me a better person or believer.  In fact, I believe God’s Word becomes that much more personal when I have committed it to memory and it is written on my heart.  In this way God’s Word is always with me.  I don’t have to carry a book around because portions of that great word are fresh in my mind, ready to aid in my witness or come to my rescue in personal adversity.  God’s Word is not just alive and active on the pages of the Bible.  When I commit Scripture to memory God’s Word is alive and active IN ME.

God’s Word is my sword.  It is part of my armor that Paul calls on me to put on every day to protect me from the weapons of the enemy of my soul.  It is intimidating and frustrating to the evil one when we become so acquainted and firm in God’s Word because Scripture reminds satan of who he is, what Jesus has done on mankind’s behalf, and that believers are more than conquerors over him.

Those are just a few of the reason why I memorize Scripture.

I urge you to consider committing God’s Word to memory as a weekly practice in your walk with God.  When you allow the seed of God’s Word to be planted in your heart and mind it will blossom into fruition in ways you cannot begin to imagine.

One thought on “Why I Memorize Scripture

  1. I think your words are exactly right, and more often than not what you said was Biblical, so we know it’s Truth. I appreciate your perspective and insight on this. (I love the name of your theme, btw.)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

