Favorite Things Friday: The Best Friend

I have to say that I have been blessed with so many friends over the years.  God has really poured out a bounty of love, encouragement, and truth over my life through some really fab people.  I say this because it’s true, but also because I don’t want anyone to feel left out because this post is about one particular person.  Sometimes using the word “best friend” makes me feel like I’m excluding other people from some inner circle. I have more than one “best friend”, but some friendships are kind of loose around the edges and others cinch in tighter ~ every one is special in their own way ~ people I would not want to do life without.

With that said, I do have one terrifically special and amazing gal-pal.  She is truly a gift from God.  Seriously.  I’m pretty sure that when we met in college that she had a big red bow tied around her (a la present or…car) that I just could not see with my human eyes.

Actually, when we first met I didn’t like her at all.  And she wasn’t that crazy about me either.  There were no cat fights involved; just a general dislike with each party.  Yeah, that didn’t last very long.

I was singing for an accompanying class.  She was in the class and inevitably I would get paired with her so she could practice with my voice and my music.  I think at that point we pretty much fell head-over-heels in friendship with each other.

Do you want to know our defining friendship moment?  The beginning? The point at which it all began?

It was a shirt.

A green faux-suede shirt I had (it was 2000…do not judge me).  I wore it to that accompanying class one day and she said, “Ooooh”.  Then she proceeded to reach over and “pet” the sleeve of my shirt to get the full effect of the faux suede-i-ness.  We have been besties ever since.  (I realize, for some, that may sound like THE most awkward thing, but it wasn’t and it’s hilarious for us to talk about to this day.  I do want to say that I looked at her strangely, but we frequently look at each other like we are both weirdos so it’s all good.)

She may kill me for telling that story.

Anyway… 🙂

Here we are on our way to a wedding in Southern Illinois in the summer of 2001:

How ADORBS are we?!?! (She will hate that I used that word.) 🙂

This one person knows me like she knows herself.

We share the same white-girl complexion so we can share makeup tips and color palettes.

She is always honest with me.

We have laughed A LOT!

We have cried together many times.

She is a constant encouragement to me as I seek God’s will for my life and continue to grow in Him.

She is like my sister.

It hurts to be so far away from her.

She amazes me with her talents and abilities (If I did what she does on a weekly basis I just might die).

Despite the face that she is a wife and momma, she always has time for me (blows my mind).

I could probably go on and on, but it would just be more of the same.  She is a great friend.  More than I could have asked for in a best friend.  She accepts and loves me just as I am.  And I am ever so grateful for that.

Cheers, Jennie!  You are my best friend and I love you very much.

3 thoughts on “Favorite Things Friday: The Best Friend

  1. Wow! I feel so blessed that you wrote a blog post about me. I love you very much, Beck, and I’m so thankful for you. I really needed this today. I smiled about the green shirt, and grimaced at the word…ugh…adorbs. I could hardly type it. Also, what is that last picture? Who am I hugging? lol I love you!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

